Nouveau patient au Centre du Cancer et d'hématologie ? Appelez le 02 764 12 00

Cancer

 







What is cancer?

Cancer is a generic term for a group of diseases occurring in all tissues made up of cells potentially capable of division.

The distinctive feature of cancer is uncontrolled multiplication of cells. Initially, this multiplication occurs locally, forming masses or tumours at the point of origin. For example, one early symptom of breast cancer is a lump in the breast. Sometimes, it may spread to other organs located some distance away, causing metastases to form. These metastases are similar to the original tumour, despite not being in the organ in which the tumour started.



Our approach: effective and human drugs

 

A GLOBAL APPROACH

 

We do not care simply for tumours; rather, we care for the whole patient. The King Albert II Institute is an integral part of Cliniques Universitaires Saint-Luc. This means that all patients treated in the King Albert II Institute have a guarantee of global care, which takes account of all the elements relating to their state of health.

For example, cancer patients with diabetes will be given global care, benefiting from the expertise of different doctors treating the cancer and the diabetes in the same location. Patients are also guaranteed perfect communication between all carers, thus guaranteeing each carer full knowledge of what is on the patient’s medical file.

 


MULTIDISCIPLINARY APPROACH


The Cliniques Universitaires Saint Luc King Albert II Institute contains several multidisciplinary groups, which cover all types of cancer and, as their name suggests, consist of specialists from different disciplines: oncologists, haematologists, radiotherapists, house doctors, surgeons, radiologists, anatomopathologists and genetic specialists. Each group specialises in one type of cancer (for example, the “breast tumours

                                                                       discussion group”).

Each patient’s case is discussed individually and specifically during multidisciplinary meetings, thus guaranteeing optimum care and personalised treatment, based on the expertise of the multidisciplinary group, international literature and the most recent scientific progress in diagnostic and therapeutic tools.

 


HUMANE APPROACH

 

Each multidisciplinary group has an associated Oncology Care Co-ordinator or CSO. The CSO is the patient’s reference point, monitoring patients throughout the treatment, providing perfect co-ordination between specialist doctors, and organising timetables for examinations and treatments to optimise the patient’s chances of remission.

The CSO is also responsible for collecting patients’ medical data. These data enrich the database essential for research into new treatments against cancer. To find out more about oncology care co-ordinators, click here.


King Albert II Institute psychologists are available to patients and their families, to help manage difficult situations.

 


THE TEACHING APPROACH


The King Albert II Institute is an integral part of Cliniques Universitaires Saint-Luc, which has a basic threefold teaching mission: to provide top-quality care, develop up-to-date research and offer excellent teaching facilities. All these activities are grouped together on the same site, guaranteeing optimal interaction between the various actors. This close collaboration between researchers and clinicians allows us to perfect new treatments aimed at improving the prevention, treatment and cure of cancer. The King Albert II Institute patients are the first to benefit from the proximity and exchanges.

 

Nos Experts

Découvrez les experts de l’Institut Roi Albert II. en

Different tumour types


Diary

Making an appointment

Trouvez les coordonnées de nos spécialistes.

Cliniques Universitaires St-Luc, Av Hippocrate, 10 - 1200 Bruxelles - Belgique | Tél: 02/764 11 11 | FAX: 02/764 37 03 | Where to find us?

2019 Institut Roi Albert II, Cliniques Universitaires St-Luc  -  Crédit photos - © Clin.univ.St-Luc / H. Depasse

Nouveau patient au Centre du Cancer et d'hématologie ? Appelez le 02 764 12 00

Le Cancer

 







Qu'est ce que le cancer?

Le cancer est un terme générique pour un groupe de maladies survenant dans tous les tissus composés de cellules potentiellement capables de division.

Le cancer est caractérisé par une multiplication cellulaire non contrôlée. Dans un premier temps, cette prolifération cellulaire se déroule localement formant des masses ou des tumeurs au site d'origine. A titre d'exemple, un des premiers symptômes du cancer du sein est une masse mammaire. Parfois, il peut essaimer dans d'autres organes situés à distance menant à la formation de métastases. Ces métastases sont de même nature que la tumeur primitive même si elles ne sont pas localisées dans l'organe qui à vu naître le cancer.



Notre approche : une médecine efficace et humaine

 

UNE APPROCHE GLOBALE

 

Nous ne soignons pas que la tumeur mais le patient dans sa globalité.
L’Institut Roi Albert II est totalement intégré dans les Cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc. Cela signifie que tout patient traité à l’Institut Roi Albert II a la garantie de bénéficier d’une prise en charge globale, tenant compte de tous les éléments intervenant dans son état de santé.

Par exemple, un patient traité pour un cancer et souffrant par ailleurs de diabète, sera pris en charge de manière globale : il bénéficiera  sur place tant de l’expertise des médecins spécialisés pour traiter son cancer que de celle des spécialistes en diabétologie. De plus, il est assuré d’une communication parfaite entre l’ensemble des soignants ce qui lui garantit qu’ils connaissent tous parfaitement tous les éléments de son dossier médical.

 


UNE APPROCHE MULTIDISCIPLINAIRE


L’Institut Roi Albert II des Cliniques universitaires Saint Luc est composé de plusieurs groupes multidisciplinaires, couvrant tous les types de cancers, qui, comme leur nom l’indique, sont composés de spécialistes de plusieurs disciplines : oncologues, hématologues, radiothérapeutes, internistes, chirurgiens, radiologues, anatomopathologistes et généticiens. Chaque groupe est spécialisé dans un type de tumeur (ex : groupe de concertation « Tumeurs du sein »).

Le cas de chaque patient est discuté de manière individuelle et spécifique lors de ces réunions multidisciplinaires, ce qui garantit une prise en charge optimale, un diagnostic extrêmement précis, basé sur les derniers progrès technologiques et un traitement  personnalisé basé sur l’expérience institutionnelle et les avancées les plus récentes dans les domaines médicaux et chirurgicaux.

 


UNE APPROCHE HUMAINE

 

A chaque groupe multidisciplinaire est associé un Coordonateur de Soins en Oncologie (CSO). Le CSO est la personne de référence pour le patient. Il suit le patient tout au long du traitement, assurant une parfaite coordination entre les différents médecins spécialistes et organisant le planning des examens et des traitements afin d’optimiser les chances de rémission du patient.

Par ailleurs, les CSO sont responsables de collecter les données médicales des patients. Celles-ci viennent enrichir une base de données, essentielle à la recherche de nouveaux traitements contre le cancer.


Les psychologues de l’Institut Roi Albert II sont à la disposition des patients et de leur famille afin de mieux gérer les situations délicates.

 


UNE APPROCHE UNIVERSITAIRE


Etant intégré dans un hôpital universitaire, notre mission fondamentale est d’assurer la meilleure qualité de soins, une recherche de pointe et un enseignement d’excellence. Toutes ces activités sont regroupées sur le même site, garantissant une interaction optimale entre les différents acteurs. Cette étroite collaboration entre chercheurs et cliniciens nous permet de mettre au point de nouvelles thérapies et de nouvelles techniques visant à améliorer le diagnostic, le traitement et la guérison du cancer. Les patients de l’Institut Roi Albert II sont les premiers bénéficiaires de cette proximité.

 

Nos Experts

Découvrez les experts de l’Institut Roi Albert II.

Les types de tumeurs


Agenda

Prendre rendez-vous

Trouvez les coordonnées de nos spécialistes.

Cliniques Universitaires St-Luc, Av Hippocrate, 10 - 1200 Bruxelles - Belgique | Tél: 02/764 11 11 | FAX: 02/764 37 03 | Plan d'accès

2019 Institut Roi Albert II, Cliniques Universitaires St-Luc  -  Crédit photos - © Clin.univ.St-Luc / H. Depasse